INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: using 'and' and 'or' for setting rules for display  (Read 1301 times)

jgp5775

• Recent member
using 'and' and 'or' for setting rules for display
« on: July 15, 2020, 10:53:22 am »

Can anyone please help me ? I have tried using the parentheses for adding additional rules for display but apparently I am doing it wrong. I have not found a video for it as that would make it pretty easy to follow. If you do explain it please remember I am new to MC. For example if i want 24-192 files but only cds not vinyl how would the rules setup look?
Basically any setup where you have more than one rule is what I cannot seem to figure out. I have read other posts but none so far have explained it clear enough for a newbie.thank you ahead of time  :)

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: using 'and' and 'or' for setting rules for display
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2020, 12:28:22 pm »

There's no video that directly addresses your question.

I suggest you look at the following wiki articles:
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Search_Wizard
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Search_Language

These describe in detail how to use the search language, and the search wizard.  When you use the wizard, by default all rules are required to be matched, so it is a logical AND for every rule you create.  It is therefore trivially easy to require two criteria, as long as the information is provided in tags.  Do you have a tag that indicates something is "vinyl"?

You can create search rules using the wizard, or by inputting the rules as text using the "import/export" button in the search wizard.  A rule that requires only classical music with sample rate of 192k would look like this:
[Sample Rate]=192000 [Genre]=[Classical]