INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: why must I contionually restart BubbleUPnP  (Read 1339 times)

rick5

• Recent member
why must I contionually restart BubbleUPnP
« on: September 02, 2020, 11:46:28 am »

I rely on BubbleUPnP to stream audio from MC26 to Google Chromecast Audio devices. After idle time (whether sleep or not), my Chromecast devices (DLNA) disappear from MC's list of available playing now devices, but reappear and function fine after I go restart BubbleUPnP.  Is there a way to avoid the need for restarts?
(Windows 10 PC, latest versions of Java and BubbleUPnP, home wifi, good connection (wifi from a decent Linksys router, provider is Google Fiber, with the Fiber-included router's wifi turned off as they and MC recommend, if that could matter) (I'm not very technically knowledgeable, btw, so if anyone can help, in simple terms, please). Thanks! ... Rick

Scobie

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Looking Busy
Re: why must I contionually restart BubbleUPnP
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2020, 05:30:00 pm »

I find this happens sometimes in my setup, but not very often. Usually the reason is my local network has bounced for some reason so my guess in your case is it would be network related.

Another explanation could be an IP clash...is something else waking up and knocking it out?

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2020, 06:04:18 pm »

Are you talking about BubbleUPnP on a mobile device, or BubbleUPnP Server running on the same PC as MC?

I would guess as you have Wi-Fi turned off in your router, you are talking about BubbleUPnP Server on the PC.

MC doesn't see Chromecast devices directly. MC can see Bubble as a DLNA device, and Bubble then plays to the Chromecast device.