INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to optimize sound when listening with headphones  (Read 1048 times)

tedh

• Recent member
How to optimize sound when listening with headphones
« on: May 22, 2022, 09:06:54 pm »

I am a rank beginner.

I have MediaCenter 29 and I listen to music on my Dell XPS 15 notebook with Sony WH-1000X-M3 noise cancelling headphones.

I am noticing that on some CD recordings which have been ripped into flac format that the left-right spatial separation on the headphones is so pronounced that it is uncomfortable to listen to. I think that I need to implement "crossfeed" in order to reduce the separation.

I have tried searching the Wiki user manual and this forum for information but I am getting stuck on all of the specialized language.

I would appreciate any advise regarding the best way to get a basic education on how to utilize MediaCenter 29 to control sound playback?

Scobie

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Looking Busy
Re: How to optimize sound when listening with headphones
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2022, 09:43:31 pm »

The signal processing you're after is all done in the MC DSP Studio: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DSP

In MC, if you go to Tools -> Options -> Audio -> Settings -> DSP & output format, you'll find all the DSP tools and config options including headphone crossfeed. I would have a read of the Wiki and try a few of the settings in DSP Studio to see what suits you best.

hifi-fan

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2022, 09:53:16 pm »

Thanks for the advice Scobie!

I need to rank myself as (sub)beginner, but can learn fast!  :)   I found the insights on DSP/Headphones quite insightful, especially the post on Crossed and Headphone Imaging!  I have been listening to music over headphones for over 30 years and not until now I realize of this hearing dynamic.