INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS  (Read 823 times)

Sapphie

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« on: January 14, 2023, 06:11:27 am »

I have MC 26 on a Mac and JRemote 3.36 on an iPhone 14 Pro. My SONOS speakers are older Play:1.

When playing a track on JRemote and changing the output device I see the SONOS devices listed but when I select one of them, the playback occurs on 'Player' instead. I have tried restart/reboots etc.

I can play to the SONOS speakers OK from my MC app on the Mac.

Any idea what the issue is please?

Thanks
Lee
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13578
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2023, 11:11:49 am »

If your Sonos is running S2 firmware it will no longer work with MC because the UPnP in S2 doesn't work.

If that's the case, please see this article:
https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/downgrade-a-sonos-product-from-s2-to-s1
Logged

Sapphie

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2023, 11:46:55 am »

I have found that if I am using the MC GUI on the Mac and set something playing on a Sonos zone and then run JRemote on my iPhone, it shows the Sonos speaker as the 'Current Zone' and I can then control the music from JRemote.

So, basically, if I already have something playing on the Sonos zone, JRemote can control it, change the music etc.

If nothing is already playing on the Sonos zone, then I am unable to make it the current zone from JRemote.

Is this what you'd expect?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13578
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2023, 07:43:22 pm »

I have found that if I am using the MC GUI on the Mac and set something playing on a Sonos zone and then run JRemote on my iPhone, it shows the Sonos speaker as the 'Current Zone' and I can then control the music from JRemote.

So, basically, if I already have something playing on the Sonos zone, JRemote can control it, change the music etc.

If nothing is already playing on the Sonos zone, then I am unable to make it the current zone from JRemote.

Is this what you'd expect?
No.
You should be able to select the zone to play from in the zone list in JRemote IF the Sonos is showing up as a remote zone in MC (under Playing Now).

If it's NOT showing up under the remote zones in Playing Now, you may need to enable Media Network in MC (if it's not already).

If it's not showing and Media Network is enabled, the Sonos is running the more recent firmware.

If you are playing to the Sonos from the Player zone in MC then I suppose you are probably doing that via Air Play.
That will not show up as a separate Zone in MC or JRemote.
Logged

Sapphie

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2023, 12:41:37 pm »

My Sonos speakers are old ones and are NOT Airplay compatible.
My Sonos System is on OS S2, Version 14.20.

Media Network is enabled in MC.
I can see the Sonos zones in MC.
I can play to the Sonos zones in MC - it works perfectly from here.

I have just installed and tried MO 4Media and I can play to my Sonos zones from there perfectly, whether the zone already has tracks associated with it or not.

It's just JRemote that is giving me grief.

My iPhone is on iOS 16.2.

Lee

P.S. In my earlier message I meant that  I was playing to the Sonos zone in MC, not via the Player zone in MC BUT I selected the Player zone in JRemote and it showed the track that I was playing in the MC Sonos zone.


Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13578
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2023, 02:44:26 pm »

My Sonos speakers are old ones and are NOT Airplay compatible.
My Sonos System is on OS S2, Version 14.20.

Media Network is enabled in MC.
I can see the Sonos zones in MC.
I can play to the Sonos zones in MC - it works perfectly from here.

I have just installed and tried MO 4Media and I can play to my Sonos zones from there perfectly, whether the zone already has tracks associated with it or not.

It's just JRemote that is giving me grief.

My iPhone is on iOS 16.2.

Lee

P.S. In my earlier message I meant that  I was playing to the Sonos zone in MC, not via the Player zone in MC BUT I selected the Player zone in JRemote and it showed the track that I was playing in the MC Sonos zone.
Does the Sonos zone show up in JRemote? Mine is "Bathroom"
Logged

Sapphie

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2023, 12:05:03 pm »

I deleted the app and re-installed it and now all seems to working OK. Perhaps some corruption occurred when I copied the app over to new phone?

What is the version of Sonos OS that is broken with JRiver?

Thanks for your help.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13578
Re: JRemote 3.36: unable to play on SONOS
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2023, 10:33:24 am »

I deleted the app and re-installed it and now all seems to working OK. Perhaps some corruption occurred when I copied the app over to new phone?

What is the version of Sonos OS that is broken with JRiver?

Thanks for your help.
Good to hear you got it going.
The S2 version of the Sonos firmware is the issue.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up