INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TV Series lookups with DVD Order do not work for some series  (Read 723 times)

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe

I've been using MC to lookup TV series information for my files for many years.  I was just working on importing Firefly into MC and the episode numbers are wrong for some and missing for others.  Pressing "prefer DVD Order" does not change the data retrieved:  It's all exactly the same.

I did some research and found this thread, which talks about theTVDB support being removed from MC and TMDB being added as an alternate.

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=125535.0

I consulted TMDB for Firefly and found that it does not have information on Firefly from DVD/BD at all.  It only knows about the aired order, which is essentially useless for this particular purpose.

Is there some other source that I can tell MC to use for TV series lookups?  TMDB seems to have far less data than thetvdb does.  I'm open to using another tool, but I can't use anything that runs (only) on Windows, as I do not have any windows computers.

Thanks,
Brian.

blgentry

Re: TV Series lookups with DVD Order do not work for some series
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2023, 07:15:07 am »

Does anyone have thoughts about this?

Brian.

Buldarged

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2023, 04:05:14 pm »

Well, TMDB actually has the information you desire. You can find it by clicking on "Overview --> Episode Groups", when browsing a TV show on TMDB. Seems like in the transition, this feature was not correctly ported over.

I also don't agree that theTVDB has more information as TMDB. If I take the series you mentioned (Firefly) as an example, theTVDB lists 14 episodes and 6 specials, while TMDB lists 11 episodes and 12 specials. Additionally TMDB provides multiple episode covers that are of a higher resolution.