INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver MC31: How To Decode and Play Dolby TrueHD Atmos on Windows  (Read 2725 times)

etc6849

• Recent member

There was a great article that came out in 2022: How To Decode and Play Dolby TrueHD Atmos on Windows and macOS
https://audiophilestyle.com/ca/immersive/how-to-decode-and-play-dolby-truehd-atmos-on-windows-and-macos-r1092/

It detailed how to extract Atmos audio tracks and play it back on a windows PC or Mac, with all decoding being done on the computer; with no need for a lousy AVR/AVP with poor sound quality.

If I follow the steps from the article above, would I be able to play it back using JRiver?

Is there a way to use the codec from the Dolby PC software if I pay the $400 for it and upgrade one of my JRiver licenses?

If there's some unreleased beta version, please feel free to PM.  I'm an electrical engineer with some programming experience.  Happy to use DebugView to capture logs, as well as even purchase a 1 year dolby subscription to gain access to the codecs, etc....

For me, I'm using an RME 16 channel AES card; the card digitally outputs up to 16 channels.  These go to speaker processors that use FIR filters to fully tri-amp my home theater, as well as individually time align 5 powered subs.  I have no interest in lowering my sound quality by going to an AVR, and am looking for a PC based/pro audio approach to extract and playback Atmos and DTS-X tracks.

etc6849

• Recent member
Re: JRiver MC31: How To Decode and Play Dolby TrueHD Atmos on Windows
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2023, 03:25:46 pm »

In hopes of finding a member that may have tried this, I'm going to quote a 2022 thread below, and reference a few usernames.

Yes, it's now possible to let your Pc decode Atmos. It's been a long wait.
Entry fee is $400 for the required Dolby software.

Read all about it here: