INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Album-Based Replay Gain Plugin Proposal  (Read 2109 times)

salsbst1

• World Citizen
Album-Based Replay Gain Plugin Proposal
« on: April 29, 2003, 03:29:22 pm »

I'm considering building (trying to build) a plugin for MC so that all songs from an album have a consistent replay gain applied to them.  I'm not an expert in MC and I've never studied its API before today, so please correct me if I'm wrong about anything.  And please share your ideas!

The reason I would build such a plug in is so that an album may be heard as it was designed to be heard, with softer songs playing softly and louder songs loudly.  Without correction, MCs audio analysis will level-out the reproduced volume (when the replay gain DSP is applied) across the album.

I think there are at least two schools of thought on how this would be done:

a) find the loudest song and use the replay gain (reduction) from that song for all songs from the album;
b) find the average replay gain (perhaps song-length-weighted) for the album and use that for all songs from the album;

example:

for some album:
track one RG: -4 dB, 7 minutes long
track two RG: -7 dB, 5 minutes long
track three RG: -10 dB, 3 minutes long

Under solution (a), all songs would be played back at -10 dB.  Under solution (b), all songs would be played back at -7 dB (mean of the three) or -5.73 dB (weighted mean by time of the three).

I'm sure there are other, some fancier, ideas out there... shout them out, please.  I would suspect that a fancier algorithm that re-calibrates an album based on weighted time in comparison to other albums would be ideal but I'm feeling like addressing the algorithm for the gain changes later.... right now I'm more concerned with the plugin architecture.  I'll allow for whatever algorithms people want to see.