INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Function keys to operate MJ  (Read 3459 times)

Steve4810

• Recent member
  • I am not an ANIMAL. I am a MAN!
Function keys to operate MJ
« on: November 26, 2003, 04:26:26 pm »

I've got a way cool mount for my laptop in my truck. Thing is, I'm left-handed so I'm not very good at using the touchpad with my right hand.

Also, peering down at the screen for more than a half a second while careening down the freeway is, to say the least, dicey.

So, is there a skin that lets you play/pause last/next and maybe one or two other controls VIA the Function Keys?? ?

Alt/Ctl + P/L/N while driving is too tough for me. :P

nila

Re:Function keys to operate MJ
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2003, 02:54:37 am »

Steve - what you want is just a full screen program with like 6 buttons on it that are HUGE so you can control that REALLY easily.

I could probably make a stand alone program pretty easily that'd pass the commands to MC.

What functions would you want it to have?
Then also - what buttons do you want for each function?

I'll play with it and see what I can do (wont be a plugin - will just be a stand alone app that talks to MC)

RhinoBanga

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Developer
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2003, 07:17:58 am »

Why not just use the hotkeys facility of standard Windows shortcuts to send commands like:

C:\WINNT\system32\mjextman.exe /Command Pause

Remember tho that the shortcuts must be on your desktop or in your start menu for the keys to get registered.

nila

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2003, 08:54:54 am »

I bow to the superior knowledge!! :)

I'd forgotten about that feature - never really used it.

In case your not sure what he means Steve - u create a shortcut like normal (in either of the places he said) - then you right click on it - chose properties, Shortcut - Shortcut Key option there :)