INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio tagging issues  (Read 1088 times)

donkenjo

• Recent member
Audio tagging issues
« on: November 29, 2003, 05:02:13 am »

I am new to Media Center and just evaluating if this application fits my requirements.

I have quite a number of music cd's in ogg format. As a music fan I often add extra meta-data to the files. Such are performer, lyricist, location and so on.

Is it possible to add those fields to Media Center to be displayed and edited? I am quite sure Id3v2 supports fields for this information, too. Is there a config file to edit?

Another thing I noticed when setting a ranking, is that this is stored in the media file. I like this pretty much since information is kept with the file.

There are two problems that make the tagging feature useless for me and are a clear reason not to use this otherwise very good program.

1. A big flaw is, that the data is stored not in the standard fields but as custom data. This makes it useless. There is a field recommendation, that is used by some other programs which I tried, too. Using it would make the meta-data transparent to other applications.
Is it possible to configure this behaviour?

RANKING=3
instead of
   MEDIAJUKEBOX:RATING=3

Link: http://reactor-core.org/ogg-tag-recommendations.html

2. Ogg comments can exist multiple times. Like when a song is sung by two people. This would mean that a tag with the same name exists two times.
Mediajukebox just reads the first occurance, which is not good, but enough. Anyhow when editing and saving this comment the second occurance of the comment is removed.

This seems to be a bug, since data is lost here. When reading only the first occurance, only this occurance may be overwritten when editing.