INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to This: Why isn't tagged info present, Also DVD-R's, more...  (Read 2369 times)

Health Nut

• World Citizen

Hi!

I am new to Media center and all burning software for that matter.  I decided I want to use Media Center to play music CDs and music DVDs without the video... I'm not making a full HTPC, just a music player out of my PC.  I'm trying out the Beta 10 version.  Just downloaded it last night because it came highly recommended on various forums.

In any case, I ripped the tracks I like off my first three CD's and I'm confused why all the nice tagged info isn't transferred to the burned track.  The tagged info was clearly present on the burn playlist I made, yet when I go to play the files back from the hard drive, only the title is present, not all the other tag info... I'm confused!  Also, once I rank the playlist, shouldn't that also transfer over to the stored file on the HD?  I'm using APE compression, not that it should matter... Also, I'm confused on how to make playlists... I tried updating the library... I don;t want playlists of the entire CD I burn, nor do I want any playlists that keep looking to the CD-R drive for playback!  I want the playlists to use the files I burned to the HD... but those only have the song title in the tag info... where did it go?  Do I have to re-rip those 3 CD's to get the tag info, and if so, what am I doing wrong?

Furthermore, can I make DVD-R's for my car?  I have a killer DVD plyer and setup and would like the incresed storage space of DVD-R instead of CD-R... can I simply take advantage of the greater storage space of DVD-R for my music?  If I burn from my library made with media center, will it know to convert from APE to .wav?  Doesn't it have to do this to be palyable on CD-R and DVD-R?