INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Performance Problems, Newbie needs help  (Read 1406 times)

WDave

• Recent member
Performance Problems, Newbie needs help
« on: January 20, 2004, 09:45:28 pm »

Hello,

I am very new to MC (using 9.1) and so far I am not having a very good experience.  My PC is a 700Mhz P3,  256MB, running Win98.  I have imported approx 4000 APE files on a local drive.

MC seems to play the APE files fine,  but if I try any sort of navigation through the GUI,  left click on Tools for example,  MC takes at least 15 seconds to respond.   This sounds like a problem someone else posted about suggest turning off List Tool Tips.  I tried this with no luck.

In reading the forum,  it sounds like various people are having similiar issues,  but with MANY more files.  

Am I missing something basic here?

Thanks for the help.

WD

tlongacre

• Galactic Citizen
  • gettin' in touch with my inner child, watch out!
Re:Performance Problems, Newbie needs help
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2004, 12:08:24 am »

Hmm, well 700mhz isn't all that fast these days, although it's not all that slow either. Is it really 15 seconds? Like, you counted to 15? I used to have a 500mhz with 256ram and Win98 and things were sluggish, but not that bad. My ripping speeds were abysmal though, even after I bought a faster CD drive. After I upgraded my machine to 2ghz and 512ram and WinXP, things improved exponentially. May not be an option for you, but it it's a possibility, this might be just the excuse you need  ;D

groovedaddy

• Recent member
  • Stay still so I can hack your arm off...
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2004, 05:57:08 am »

WD,