INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DVD ripping  (Read 2634 times)

zagor

• Recent member
DVD ripping
« on: May 27, 2004, 07:10:49 am »

I want to rip some portions of my DVD's. I've tried some software but those are good for duplication purposes.
I don't want to duplicate. I just want to copy the favourite scenes of the films.
I'm an amateur, so the software you'll kindly suggest should be easy to use (at least like MC) and I could watch the scene when I'm ripping.
What you suggest ?

Matthew

• World Citizen
Re:DVD ripping
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2004, 12:53:42 pm »

You could only copy the WHOLE DVD. Try DVD X Copy Platinum.   www.321studios.com

edbro

• Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2004, 12:57:30 pm »

You can copy portions of the DVD with DVDShrink (freeware, of course). Check out the guides on Doom:
http://www.doom9.org/index.html?/mpg/dvdshrink31-mmo.htm

Matthew

• World Citizen
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2004, 01:21:54 pm »

I don't understand why anyone would want to copy some of the DVD.

edbro

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2004, 01:25:44 pm »

Well, because most commercial DVDs are mastered onto 9.x GB discs. We only have access to 4.xGB discs. To back up a disk you either need to compress the data or cut out some of the extras. Personally, I'd rather cut out theatrical trailers, games, etc. rather than compress the movie with the resulting loss of quality.

DVDShrink is a fantastic program that will allow you to remaster and cut parts of the cd. It will also automatically compress the material to fit onto whatever media you tell it you are using.

Matthew

• World Citizen
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2004, 01:35:46 pm »