INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Why isn't MC encoding AAC ?  (Read 2281 times)

Bobnoznothing

• Recent member
  • Change this by choosing profile
Why isn't MC encoding AAC ?
« on: August 25, 2004, 09:57:35 am »

My question is:
Why is it not possible to rip a CD in AAC format with MC ? Is there a plug-in that exist or is there a plan to implement this in a later release of MC ?

My background:
I am a novice at this. My objective is to transfer my rather large CD collection on a hard drive to use a PC as a jukebox for casual listening at home. Over the last 3 days I have installed iTunes and played with it, pretty good but left me hoping for something better. Then I found MC, installed the current demo and find it very good. I also read on the subject and made listening tests and came to the conclusion that AAC encoding was probably the best choice. Before I proceed with the task of ripping all my CDs, I would like to find a single tool that does it all and best. I would hate to use iTunes for ripping and MC as a player, I am concerned with possible hurdles between them. Also I am still confused about the Copy protection aspect, working from my own CDs, is there any restrictions on what I can do with the compressed files ?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re:Why isn't MC encoding AAC ?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 10:34:18 am »

AAC encoding requires an expensive license we don't have.

If quality is important, please try APE (Monkey's Audio) or any lossless codec.

Bobnoznothing

• Recent member
  • Change this by choosing profile
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2004, 11:04:23 am »

AAC encoding requires an expensive license we don't have.

If quality is important, please try APE (Monkey's Audio) or any lossless codec.

Decoding is free? MC imports and plays back AAC files, doesn't it ?