INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Suspect MC COM API for PlayOrShow  (Read 1910 times)

meep

• Junior Woodchuck
Suspect MC COM API for PlayOrShow
« on: December 16, 2004, 04:36:42 am »

Hi There

I'm new to Media Center and have spent the last week playing with the 30 day trials. So far I love it but have encountered a serious error when attempting to integrate with NetRemote.

I've posted the issue at NR forums and through a process of elimination, have been advised that the problem most likely resides with Media Centers implementation of the PlayOrShow command.

The relevant NR thread is here: http://www.promixis.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=107287#107287

In summary;

My music library comprises exclusively AAC encoded files originally imported via iTunes. When I browse my library in NetRemote and issue a PLAY command to start playback of an Album, playback of the first track starts OK but a subsequent click on the Next Track button in NetRemote will cause MC to freeze.

If I issue the same PLAY command on the same album from within MC, track navigation works fine in NetRemote.

Therefore, we have concluded that the issue of the PlayORShow command on AAC files from NetRemote to MC will cause NetRemote to crash on subsequent track navigation.

This problem is exclusive to AAC files. I ripped a CD as APE and the problem did not present. However, I have a LOT of files encoded as AAC and really don't want to have to rip my entire CD collection again :-(

NR people say there may be a difference in the internal and published MC COM API for the PlayORShow command. Is this the case? Anything else I can check out?

Problem exists in current versions of MC 10 and 11 and with all tested version of NetRemote with a variety of CCFs.

Any help appreciated.

Peter

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!