INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing music on another PC  (Read 2061 times)

scrappy

• Recent member
  • Change this by choosing profile
Playing music on another PC
« on: October 19, 2004, 10:58:08 am »

Hi I am very new to MC I looked around for a few hours but couldn't seem to find what I was looking for.  Some of the links to the FAQ page don't work.

I am starting with a pretty basic setup.  I have a server that will hold all of my media, ( currently music and pictures), I have sharing enable on that directory(s) for myhome network.
I have an PC connected to my home theater so I can play music view images etc.  
The HT receiver has multizone capability and it drives speakers in a remote location, lets call it Zone2.   I want to have a laptop or other pc in Zone2, remote control the HTPC so I can playback music in Zone2.  Now I could just use remote control software like XP's built in remote control but is there a better way to do this with Media Center or some other product.

Thanks in advance and I apologize for being such a noob.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re:Newbie help with MC please
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 11:02:16 am »

Media Center supports several remotes (IRMan, etc.) and also Girder input plugins.

It also supports multi-zone playback with one instance of MC.  Check out the 'Zone Manager' inside of MC.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

scrappy

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 11:10:00 am »

I wasn't clear on the question.  I want full control of the MC and want it to run on a PC I could use Windows XP Remote desktop but I just wanted to know if there is a better way.  I saw Netremote but that only looks like it is for PPC's.  I am planning on using my PPC down the road.

I guess I am looking for MC to act as a Client Server app.

Thanks!

scrappy

• Recent member