INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to MC, Trying it  (Read 1131 times)

carfac

• Recent member
New to MC, Trying it
« on: July 03, 2005, 01:35:12 am »

Hi:

I am new to MC, and trying it out now. It seemed like it would work well for what I need. The basic program works great, BTW....

BUT...

I am having one config problem I would like your advice on. I have a "media" server, it has 180 Gigs of music on it. That is in my office off my bedroom, where it is easy to work on. I have another computer next to my stereo, basically a client. Third, I have this computer, a lap-top that I am using downstairs right now while my wife sleeps.

So, the Office computer is the master... good enough. Now if I want to edit stuff- add images, make playlists, etc- from here on my laptop, what is the best set up? Should I set it up as a client, and Office as a server? Or should I just point the laptop to the Library of Office, and just only edit on one machine at a time?

Now... should I link to the music files like:

I:\Music\iTunes\Artist\Album\song.mp3

or

\\Main\music\Music\iTunes\Artist\Album\song.mp3

(You see- that would be the same from any computer). So far, to music it does not seem to make any difference... but it does seem to make a big difference for cover images! That brings up my next question, one I have seen asked a few times on this forum, but I have yet to see the answer...

What the heck is up with Cover images? Sometimes they are there... sometimes not. I use mp3's, and write those into the files... and use c:/path/on/down/to/Cover Art/XXXX.jpg for the WAV files.

I am looking at an mp3 file right now, and rather than an image in the left horixontal pane, I see

http://192.168.1.4:9000/Cover Art/I:\Music\iTunes\Artist\Album\song.mp3

(The TEXT, not an image!)

Other places, I see (Text) <External Image> or <Internal Image>