INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC11 won't start on domain computer  (Read 1467 times)

666damo

MC11 won't start on domain computer
« on: November 17, 2005, 04:48:49 am »

Hey people,

I'm Damo. I really hate to make my first post a problem because the program generally works wonderfully. Also, I tend to be a bit long-winded: please forgive me. Thanks in advance guys and girls.

I've been using MC10 for a few months now on 2 XP computers and a 2003 server. Through searching, I got MC10 to run for power users on the XP boxes as the privileges were a problem beforehand.

The current, similar, problem presented itself when I made these computers part of a domain. MC10 kept telling me that I needed at least power user permissions again. (In a generic domain, there is no such thing as a power user group.) I did however construct the equivilent - the error still appeared.

Further searching in the forums semi-guananteed me that MC11 would fix my problem. One overdrawn creditcard later, I was the proud owner of a new MC11 reg file. MC11 started up while logged in as a domain user, then bam. Gone. Disappeared. No warning, No error.

I have exhausted my options. It will start only with a user who is a member of the administrators group.

Are there logs that I should check?
Permissions that domain users should be given?
I don't want to give them write access to a whole bunch of files!

Cheers,
Damo.

no matter how bad you think things may be, remember: you can't fall off the floor

666damo

Update: MC11 won't start on domain computer
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2005, 05:37:41 am »

Spoke too soon... well, I fixed one computer at least.

I'll do a little more testing to figure out what the problem was exactly, but my current best guess is that MC10 needs to be removed before MC11 will start as a non-administrator user.