INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting FLAC to OGG during synch creates audible artifacts  (Read 3287 times)

pianissimo84

• Recent member

I am new to MC as I am considering various software options to help manage a large music collection ripped to FLAC format. I have a 30GB portable player (iAudio X5) I would like to store as much of that collection as possible as OGG files. Here's the 2 problems I have encountered while using the synch option (manual mode) to convert and store onto the portable device:

1) I would like to maintain my own custom directory structure. Using the data/ option is close but it still manages to insert extra sub-directories according to album on the portable device. This would wreak havoc on any playlists I might want to build later since the PC directory structure and the portable directory structure won't match. How can I 'force' the adherence to my directory structure short short of selecting individual files?

2) Most of the OGG files created during this process now have audible artifacts like skipping and other noises not present in the original FLAC files. I am using the most current FLAC encoder and decoder plug-ins.

Other than these concerns, I really like the interface but will need to resolve these issues before I buy a license.  Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Regards,

Rob.................

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Converting FLAC to OGG during synch creates audible artifacts
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2006, 07:14:00 am »

It's probably the ogg encoder.  Try a higher bit rate, or default settings, or MP3.

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • The Cosmic Bird
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2006, 08:33:25 am »