INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CAR PC: Run Media Center for Car? Pioneer AVIC Z1 with iPOD control, etc...  (Read 2581 times)

Health Nut

• World Citizen

Hi!

I've been using J Rivers Media Center for a few years now and enjoy it very much.  I was thinking about installing a car PC and running J Rivers Media Center. 

I was wondering if anyone has experience with the Pioneer A/V/navigation car setups?  The Pionner AVIC Z1 is a DVD/CD/Navigation unit with flushmount 7 inch touch screen which can control an iPOD, however I'm not sure if this is analog or digital connection. 

I'm not into MP3 quality and would convert my APE lossless collection to Apples lossless format, but even then I only have 60 GB to work with if I buy the 60 GB iPOD for use with the car.  I was wondering if J Rivers Media Center would work with a touch screen of the Pioneer?  Or, if I decided to go the route of a CAR PC, I could use the Aux inputs of the Pioneer processor, but again, how would you best control J Rivers?  It would be great to control J Rivers with the touch screen LCD of the Pioneer.

Any thoughts on what can be done?  Ideally it would be great to have J Rivers in the car with me.... or maybe it is best to say Media Center hehehe!!  I'm not into the Brokeback Mountain thing!!

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!

Hopefully Dragyn will chime in as he has an amazing MC-powered carputer.

I keep considering doing it, but haven't pulled the trigger.

MC running on a DC-powered VIA computer with ASIO all through a touchscreen would be pretty neat.  You could even have wireless so you could sync it as a virtual handheld with your main MC each time you pulled in the garage.