INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: APE, ALAC and lossless questions!  (Read 1924 times)

darichman

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
APE, ALAC and lossless questions!
« on: August 07, 2006, 06:23:14 am »

Hey there...

I'm rather new to lossless encoding. I have some apple lossless (ALAC) files created in iTunes which I want to convert to APE for use in MC.

It seems that MC11 is unable to import/handle ALAC files so I converted them to wav files for importing to MC (unfortunately losing tag info in the process :()

A few questions:
1. Is there a better way to do this?
2. There are a few APE encoding settings in MC (Normal, Fast, High etc)... Are all of these lossless? What is the major difference between these settings?
3. Is there any way to get MC to play ALAC files?

Any help would be appreciated :)

Yaobing

• Administrator
  • Dogs of the world unite!
Re: APE, ALAC and lossless questions!
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2006, 08:39:53 am »

Hey there...

I'm rather new to lossless encoding. I have some apple lossless (ALAC) files created in iTunes which I want to convert to APE for use in MC.

It seems that MC11 is unable to import/handle ALAC files so I converted them to wav files for importing to MC (unfortunately losing tag info in the process :()

A few questions:
1. Is there a better way to do this?
2. There are a few APE encoding settings in MC (Normal, Fast, High etc)... Are all of these lossless? What is the major difference between these settings?
3. Is there any way to get MC to play ALAC files?

Any help would be appreciated :)

1. Probably not, unless you can find a set of DirectShow filters that can handle the format. So far I have not found any.

2. They are all lossless. The settings are for amount of compression vs. speed of encoding.

3. MC should play them using Quicktime engine.
Yaobing Deng, JRiver Media Center

Alex B