INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Laptop syncing, possible?  (Read 1869 times)

Marty3d

• Citizen of the Universe
Laptop syncing, possible?
« on: August 18, 2006, 06:18:05 am »

Hi!

I am a total newbie when it comes to syncing with MC. I use no devices like MP3 players.

But now, I'm about to move and I'd like to know if I can sync my laptop with my main MC machine. Before, I used to connect my laptop to Library server, but I don't have that option in a while (no internet connection in my new flat).

My idea is to transfer a playlist+files a day to my laptop so I can listen to music while working. Then after a day of hard work, I connect the laptop to the desktop MC and transfer the file info so MC library is updated with the changes made on my laptop.

Is this possible or am I missing the point of syncing?

Thanks!
/Martin

hit_ny

• nothing more to say...
Re: Laptop syncing, possible?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 09:07:13 am »

But now, I'm about to move and I'd like to know if I can sync my laptop with my main MC machine. Before, I used to connect my laptop to Library server, but I don't have that option in a while (no internet connection in my new flat).
Exactly the question i've been thinking about recently.

You're on the road, you have MC on the laptop. There is no way to use library server as there is no network connection available.

When you return home, how do you sync the library on the laptop with the desktop at home and have tags, ratings, playcounts etc updated.

Two cases
- stuff that is only on the laptop and not on the desktop yet.
MPL could work here, on the road, listen to the albums, then save to mpl in each album folder. Copy dirs to desktop and import the folders with the mpl. You would need to create a similar directory structure on the desktop for the purposes of the import.

- stuff that's on both machines.