INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup  (Read 1723 times)

jgreen

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2419
MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« on: November 10, 2006, 02:42:33 pm »

I can reproduce this reliably, and only noticed it after startup times were optimized via serializing processes.  After a complete machine reboot, starting MC for the first time, even after an interval of several minutes after reboot will show this behavior: 

A quick start, 1 sec, a brief period with control of the GUI, maybe 3 secs, and then the GUI will freeze completely for 20-30 secs by my count, then control is restored and MC behaves normally.  Restart MC, and the events are similar, only the complete freeze will last maybe 3 secs, and then all is normal.

Reboot the PC, and the 20-30 sec freeze returns.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 02:47:54 pm »

Perhaps a 3rd party interface plugin you have installed is using .NET or doing some other slow thing.

Interface plugins need to run in the main thread, so they can block the UI as they startup.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

jgreen

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2419
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 03:21:37 pm »

Lyrics Editor, it appears.

Matt, once again, thank you for clearing this up.  I swear, unless I discover a severed horse's head or something, I'm going to lay off the bug reports.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2006, 03:25:23 pm »

It's best if interface plugins aren't "server" style.  That way, they're only started when you access them instead of loading them everytime the program starts.

Of course, that model doesn't work for all plugins.

As I mentioned, it's really tricky for us to move plugins to a background thread (UI in multiple threads is dicey) so there isn't a lot we can do.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20049
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2006, 07:37:48 pm »

Quote
Lyrics Editor, it appears.

I noticed that too, last week

I disabled each plug-in until I found the one, not sure what it is doing.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
https://centercitybbs.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8967
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2006, 08:05:03 pm »

I noticed that too, last week

I disabled each plug-in until I found the one, not sure what it is doing.
Doof has it set to "always run" to avoid this bug:

Doof

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5907
  • Farm Animal Stupid
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2006, 10:43:01 am »

Just noticed this thread.

The latest release of Lyrics Editor has the mode switched back to active when visible. Marko's correct in that the only reason I originally set it to be always active was as a work around to a bug in the SDK. Since MC12's arrival, I'm not sure the bug is still there, as I've switched the mode back to active when visible and so far haven't encountered the bug. Anybody else seeing it?
Logged

Magic_Randy

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2350
  • I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure..
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2006, 11:12:51 am »

Just noticed this thread.

The latest release of Lyrics Editor has the mode switched back to active when visible. Marko's correct in that the only reason I originally set it to be always active was as a work around to a bug in the SDK. Since MC12's arrival, I'm not sure the bug is still there, as I've switched the mode back to active when visible and so far haven't encountered the bug. Anybody else seeing it?

I'm using Lyrics Editor 2.14 - is the update you referred to in this version or the next version coming out?

I get some delay, but I think that is because of an external drive I use for all of my music files.  It looks like it is reading through he external drive for ~20 seconds, then everything settles down.
Logged

Mr ChriZ

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4375
  • :-D
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2006, 11:20:34 am »

Matt any chance of implementing this idea
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=36572.0
It would really help alot with the .NET plugins.

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20049
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2006, 11:43:25 am »

Quote
I originally set it to be always active was as a work around to a bug in the SDK

What Makes You Think is A Bug In The SDK?

What Is Used In The SDK To Cause This?
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
https://centercitybbs.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA

Doof

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5907
  • Farm Animal Stupid
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2006, 05:51:24 pm »

At the time that I was running into it, I wrote a plugin that did nothing but call the CreateFiles() routine. If you ran the plugin, then went to Playing Now, then back to the plugin, it would crash. Setting the mode to Always Active for some reason avoided this.
Logged

KingSparta

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 20049
Re: MC will freeze for 30 secs after startup
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2006, 07:03:24 pm »

Recently I found out when using a trap like

On Error Resume Next

And When Doing Somethings In A Loop Would Cause MC To Crash

I Fixed The Problem By Using "On Error Goto"

In A Sub That Accessed The SDK.

I think The "Resume Next" was forcing the code to continue to run after it should have quit.
Logged
Retired Military, Airborne, Air Assault, And Flight Wings.
Model Trains, Internet, Ham Radio
https://MyAAGrapevines.com
https://centercitybbs.com
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Pages: [1]   Go Up