INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC 12 on Home Network  (Read 3035 times)

Gl3nn

• Galactic Citizen
MC 12 on Home Network
« on: February 15, 2007, 10:49:06 am »

Been a long-time user of both MC and MJ.  Solo, 1-PC user only, however.

Is it possible, on a simple 3-PC home network (WinXP), to access and play songs/mp3s on #1 and #2 PC from a 3rd PC at the same time?

IOW - person #1 uses PC #1 and has her own library/ratings/songs.  Ditto for person #2 on PC #2.  Can MC12 access & play both - preferably concurrently but independently would be acceptable - from the 3rd PC?

Sorry for the noob-ish question but I've never tried to do this before... and I'm not really sure how this would work.

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance!

WolfWalker

• Galactic Citizen
Re: MC 12 on Home Network
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2007, 10:54:26 am »

I am in the same boat as you
So much music so little time!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2007, 11:06:56 am »

You can run Library Server on any PC and connect to it from another PC on your network.

It's under "Services and Plug-ins" in the tree.

BartMan01

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2007, 11:56:16 am »

You can run Library Server on any PC and connect to it from another PC on your network.

It's under "Services and Plug-ins" in the tree.

But how does this work for multiple libraries?  Can you 'serve' one library while using another on the local PC?  The original question is one that I am struggling with too.  Running 2 libraries from 2 different computers both using the same files.  What is the *best* way to do this?

John Gateley

• Nice haircut
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2007, 01:16:13 pm »