INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OT -- Virus checkers  (Read 4593 times)

famu97

• Junior Woodchuck
OT -- Virus checkers
« on: August 12, 2007, 08:56:57 am »

I'm new to JRiver Media Center but I love what I see so far.  I downloaded this latest version and installed it but when I tried to download one of the remote IR plug-ins my Trend Micro anti-virus software said that it detected the PAK_GENERIC.001 virus.  Has anyone seen this problem before? Should I be worried it's any actual virus?  Are these 3-rd party plug-ins being downloaded from an unknown source that maybe unsecure or not properly tested and vetted?

Thanks
KT

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • The Cosmic Bird
OT -- Virus checkers
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 09:08:48 am »

I'm new to JRiver Media Center but I love what I see so far.  I downloaded this latest version and installed it but when I tried to download one of the remote IR plug-ins my Trend Micro anti-virus software said that it detected the PAK_GENERIC.001 virus.  Has anyone seen this problem before? Should I be worried it's any actual virus?  Are these 3-rd party plug-ins being downloaded from an unknown source that maybe unsecure or not properly tested and vetted?

It's probably a false alarm. I have never heard about "plugin virus problems" and those plugins have been available for a long time. Which plugin exactly?

EDIT

I searched for the PAK_GENERIC.001 virus. Seems like it is not an actual virus detection: http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=PAK%5FGENERIC%2E001&VSect=P
The Cosmic Bird - a triple merger of galaxies: http://eso.org/public/news/eso0755

John Gateley

• Nice haircut
OT -- Virus checkers
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2007, 09:32:44 am »