INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MCAutomation vs IMJAutomationPtr?  (Read 2340 times)

stottle

• Junior Woodchuck
MCAutomation vs IMJAutomationPtr?
« on: September 02, 2007, 10:45:46 pm »

I'm new to C# and confused on the differences between the C++ interface to MC12 and the C# interface.  I would appreciate any help I can get.

I've got a working C# start to an application (not a plugin) that populates a list box based on the JRiver interface.  It simply lists all of the songs.  To do this, I use MCAutomation (I'm not doing anything with events at this point).  The code looks something like this:

Code: [Select]
IMJFilesAutomation mySongs = pMC.Search("[Media Type]=audio");
StringBuilder sBuild = new StringBuilder();
for (int i = 0; i < mySongs.GetNumberFiles(); i++)
{
    IMJFileAutomation myFile = mySongs.GetFile(i);
    sBuild.AppendFormat("{0}\n",myFile.Name);
}

This code takes about 3-5 seconds to run, which seems pretty slow to me (I've only got about 2000 tracks in my library).  I'm not sure if I'm not the right track or not, but I implemented something similar in C++ (C++ 2005 express vs. C# 2005 express, if that matters).  The following C++ code takes about 1/2 second (including creating the MC instance):

IMJFilesAutomationPtr pFiles = pMJ->Search("[Media Type]=audio");
IMJFileAutomationPtr pFile;
for (int i = 0; i < pFiles->GetNumberFiles(); i++)
{
    pFile = pFiles->GetFile(i);
}

Yes, I know I'm not doing any string processing in the C++, but I can comment out that line in the C# and the time it takes to run doesn't change. 

My thinking (I'm really curious if I'm on the right track or not) is that the C# code is doing a copy (probably shallow) of each file, whereas the C++ is just keeping the pointer.  I tried to change the C# code, using unsafe, to use pointers, but I keep getting errors like the following: