INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [FEATURE REQUEST] Playback Options -- Radio Segue style (no fade overlap)  (Read 6799 times)

MusicHawk

• Citizen of the Universe

Bias: My background is radio station operations, and I love the sound. So I keep hoping MC will move ever closer to how music is managed and played on-the-air. Therefore...

It would be terrific to have one more Playback Option: "Radio Segue" style, which does NOT FADE anything, it simply provides user-controllable overlap duration. This is how radio stations do it.

To get close, I currently use this setting:
Playback Options... Audio ... Switch tracks ... Cross-fade (aggressive) ... 2s
This sounds pretty good, but it is not how a radio station transitions between songs.

Except in special situations, radio stations do not "cross-fade", aggressively or otherwise. They "segue", which in practice means transition between songs without a gap -- actually with a little bit of overlap, but nothing gets "faded".

Radio segue is not the same as "gapless" as implemented by MC or iPod, which seems to mean no gap between the physical tracks -- it doesn't "listen" to the music to create anything like a segue.

A radio station starts every new song at full level (never faded up at the start). That's the case whether playing music hands-on or via automation. (The vast majority of today's radio music is played via automation, even when there's a "live" DJ, who is also often recorded.)

Handling the end of a song is trickier, since there are so many ways a music piece finishes. It might fade out quickly, or fade out slowly or even very slowly. With this type of ending, whether MC adds a bit of its own fading is hardly noticeable, though seemingly unnecessary.