INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playlist: complex objective  (Read 2823 times)

alpaca

• Recent member
Playlist: complex objective
« on: January 26, 2008, 12:21:39 pm »

I'm new to MC and to this forum, and apologize in advance if this question has already been answered. I was not able to find an answer.

Let's suppose I have ten CDs worth of songs that I want to combine into a playlist. No problem doing that, no problem having the songs play in a random order.

However, I have listened to one of the CDs so much that the order of the songs is stuck in my head as the "right" order, and if I hear one song from that CD I want to hear the rest of the songs on the CD--and in their proper order.

So I want my playlist, which consists of the ten CDs worth of songs, to randomly mix the songs from nine CDs, but treat that tenth CD as a single unit--which is to say it should be played randomly like the other songs, but (a) it always starts with song #1 from the CD, and (b) always plays entirely through the CD in its original order.

I've tried to find this capability in other jukebox programs--WMP, MusicMatch, WinAMP--but have been unsuccessful; as far as I can tell, those other players cannot accomplish this kind of ordering. Can any of you MC users/experts tell me if it is possible with MC?

Any comments/feedback/recommendations would be most welcome; thanks to anybody who answers.

And if anybody from J River reads this post, how about you put something in the help file explaining how this is done, or that it is not possible to do?

Doof

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Farm Animal Stupid
Re: Playlist: complex objective
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 02:05:24 pm »

There's no automatic way to do what you're looking for. The best you can do is manually set the order for that album when you listen to it.