INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: dvd description  (Read 1510 times)

bryanwhitby

• Recent member
dvd description
« on: February 10, 2008, 03:28:49 am »

Hi
Can you please tell me whether there is a way to add comment/description to a dvd by use of the Tags
It would be nice to have a short desciption of the film come up as you hover over the cover
Regards
Bryan Whitby

benn600

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Living: Santa Monica CA Hometown: Cedar Rapids IA
Re: dvd description
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2008, 09:24:27 am »

I've been asking for this to be fixed for several months.  Turns out tags cannot be saved in DVD files.  My suggestion was for MC to write an XML file with the tags in the DVD folder.  Seems like it would fix the problem.

bryanwhitby

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2008, 11:28:51 am »

Dont see much use of the IFO tag Perhaps they could allow that to be an editable field to contain user text

rjm

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2008, 12:36:47 pm »

I think the 2 of you may be discussing different issues.

A DVD is stored in MC as one IFO file. You can assign whatever tags you want to the IFO including comments and notes.

Now on to Ben's point...

IFO's (like many other file formats such as AVI and PDF) do not store tags inside the file. This means the tag information is stored only in MC's library which means you need to be disciplined about backing up your MC library.

An additional important point...