INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a better way to do this?  (Read 1702 times)

bil1010105

• World Citizen
Is there a better way to do this?
« on: March 02, 2008, 03:40:06 pm »

Hi all,

I've been using MC for a few months now, and thanks to this forum I've set everything up so that it works. Just. It doesn't work particularly smoothly or well though, and I'm wondering if I'm missing something obvious (I do that a lot) to make it better.

My config consists of a main PC which I do all my editing on. I have a 500Gb NAS storage drive which has all my videos etc on. This is connected in the living room next to the HTPC, which is only used for browsing and viewing the library. They all communicate (wired) via a Linksys WRT54G router, with the main PC and the living room side of the network connected via Netgear 200Mbs Powerline ethernet. Gigabit is not an option at the moment. I also don't get particularly fast connection between the main PC and the rest of the house... the 40 year old wiring probably having something to do with that.

The NAS storage has three network shares on it, which are mapped to network drives on both the main PC and the HTPC. L: contains my library, M: has videos, and R: has music. Videos are my main use for this software.

The problem is that when I open the library on drive L: on the main PC (which is behind the slow powerline ethernet connection) it's almost impossible to do anything. Watching videos is a complete waste of time, and trying to even edit tags means that the whole application freezes after every mouse click for upwards of a minute at a time. Note that because MC doesn't stream Xvids etc I'm running them direct from network shares, as was recommended on this forum. That part works great on the HTPC. It's just making changes to the library that is (almost) unusable.