INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem with AVerMedia PCIe combo and MC12  (Read 7096 times)

dcrabtree

• Recent member
Problem with AVerMedia PCIe combo and MC12
« on: October 08, 2008, 05:17:18 pm »

Hi.  I’m having problems getting my AVerMedia PCIe combo card to work properly with Media Center 12, build 12.0.534.  I can tune analog channels just fine and I see video and hear audio but the picture “stutters”.  I originally tried the Hauppauge WinTV HVR 1800 - same problem.  I installed Media Center in Vista Ultimate on a Dell SC420 that I repurposed for my TV room.  The Dell has a 2.9 GHz processor, 4Gb of RAM and an NVIDIA Quadra NVS 55/280 PCI video card.  It’s connected to a Sony 46” LCD TV.   Both tuners worked OK in Windows Media Center but I really want to keep all of my media organized with Media Center.  I’m new to the whole TV tuner “thing” so I’m hoping that I’m making a dumb mistake somewhere.  Thanks!

-don

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Problem with AVerMedia PCIe combo and MC12
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 07:22:32 pm »

Have you tried digital channels?

You might try picking different decoders in TV options.  On Vista, I'd recommend using the Microsoft audio and video filters.  Also, use EVR for rendering, which is another option in TV options.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

dcrabtree

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2008, 07:00:06 am »

Thanks for the help Matt.  I'm connecting to a cable box that is analog only (rural cable system) but I plan to test digital channels tonight via an antenna.  I'll let you know if the suggestions help.

-don

dcrabtree

• Recent member
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2008, 06:27:36 pm »