INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Semi-OT: connect to stereo using Cat-5 or Coax?  (Read 2530 times)

RobOK

• Citizen of the Universe
  • long time MC user for PC, iPod and Tivo
Semi-OT: connect to stereo using Cat-5 or Coax?
« on: October 20, 2008, 12:48:25 pm »

Hello,

I am a home theater newbie, currently use wireless connections to Tivos.

It struck me that my house is wired with a parallel set of coax (i.e. every room has two coax wires) and a set of Cat-5 wires.  Both are unused, but seem a great resource.  The hub of all this is in a storage area.

Would it be possible to use either of these as a way of streaming an audio and video feed to my home theater?  I think the answer is "no", but people here always have some interesting ideas.  What would be needed on the receiving end to make that happen?  Are there any cheap devices to do that -- would i be looking a uPnP devices?  What would I need on my server to output those?

The Tivo does well with images or music but would like to get the MC interface and/or be able to stream video.

thanks,
Rob.

benn600

• Living: Santa Monica CA Hometown: Cedar Rapids IA
Re: Semi-OT: connect to stereo using Cat-5 or Coax?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 05:54:44 pm »

I do this at around 10 locations around the house.  You need a home theater pc at each end.  Some companies specialize in tiny boxes.  I make larger ones for less money and just put them in a well hidden area.  Oh yes, Media Center in every room.  Especially when you've got 16K FLAC songs, not to mention video.  I've got a gigantic server that hosts everything and has yet to give me a hiccup.  It is RAID6.

RobOK

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 07:02:16 pm »

Thanks Benn600, I have read many of your posts.

At this point, I want to do it without HTPCs at every TV.  I can see the advantages of that, but for me that is too much.