INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recording streaming radio through soundcard on MC12  (Read 3617 times)

Soul Boy

• Recent member
Recording streaming radio through soundcard on MC12
« on: November 24, 2008, 04:45:13 pm »

Hi All

I am fairly new to MC and have so far found it very good and stable. That is apart from one really irritation error. I like to record BBC Radio shows, the BBC in thier wisdom, hide the direct URL for the .rm file somehow so I record the program via my soundcard - which works fine - on the BBC Radio "Listen Again" link. This is fine as i set it up to record and then forget about it for the duration of the show. I set the "Maximum track length" to 120 minutes (the length of the show) but when i return it shows a recording time of 202 minutes (82 minutes of silence) an error message saying "Error piping data to external application" and then "Failed writing wave file"  Sometimes, it does write the wave file regardless of what the error says, other times it does not write the file.

Does anyone have any idea why the "Maximum track length" function does not seem to be working?

Also, it would be so much easier to use the "Schedule Service" but as I say I cannot find the direct URL address for the shows "Real Media File" buried deep within the BBC webpage.

Any clues would be most appriecated.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Recording streaming radio through soundcard on MC12
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2008, 05:22:01 pm »

Is there any chance they have an MP3 stream?  Because then you could use MC's "Open URL..." or Scheduler to just have it record the native stream.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Soul Boy

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 02:21:24 am »

Hi Matt.