INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Normalisation Before Burning - Any Advice Please?  (Read 1859 times)

Rusty

Normalisation Before Burning - Any Advice Please?
« on: July 20, 2002, 09:37:52 pm »

Thanks for reading my post, I appreciate it ...

I am about to make a Compilation CD, but the volume levels of a number of tracks are different.  Now I've never used Normalisation in any form before & am unsure whether to use it now before encoding & burning.

Obviously I want the best quality burn & I suppose most would probably say ... "Well don't normailise". But if I were to normalise at this pre-burning stage could you possibly advise me as to what percentage setting would be optimal to even out the volume levels yet introduce the minimal amount of noise?

Kindest regards & thanks for any advice you may like to offer - Rusty.

Rusty

RE:Normalisation Before Burning - Any Advice Please?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2002, 06:14:29 pm »

Re-Posted due to nil responses ...

Is replay gain a better option?

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2002, 06:30:21 pm »

Hey Rusty.

Normalization isn't going to do what you want.  However, Replay Gain is the perfect solution.  The only hitch is that it's not the easiest to use when burning in MJ 8.

If you want to try it, do this:

1) analyze the replay gain of the files you want to burn
2) put them in Playing Now, switch the playback output to "Disk Writer"
3) configure the DSP Studio to use Replay Gain, and any other DSP's you want on the CD
4) play the playlist -- it'll dump the files to disk (it'll make a bunch of WAV's)
5) add these WAV's to the CD burner and burn them

If you do a forum search for "Disk Writer", you may find some more helpful threads about how to do this.

Hope that helps.

-Matt
JRiver, Inc.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

shelly