INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Those with servers. multiple media drives. Whats best way of Labeling\ Tagging?  (Read 3548 times)

HTPC4ME

• Citizen of the Universe
  • LIFE IS A RADIO... CRANK IT UP TO 11!

well ive managed to fill up my music drive with about 10 gigs left on it. and still in the process of tagging all the files(which ive been working on for a couple months now and hoping that that will be enough room to move the files around and change the drive folder structure once they are all tagged properly. to the ABC-Z instead of genres\artist\album structure i have now?!)

Being ive just bought a new music drive. what is your suggestions on sorting laying out the next drive\all drives to come?  do you guys have your hard drives With folders  ABC-Z with artist\album in those? do you suggest the drive i'm tagging now i set it up ABC-Z?  Reason i ask is for server reasons.. when one has many files of the same media type what have you guys found to be the easiest for Sorting? Searching etc?  example your looking for zztop. it could be on music drive 1 Folder Z or music drive 2 Folder Z ...

Also Thumbnails... What do you guys do with multiple drives of music, pictures, videos, do you have a Designated drive for thumbnails? Cause eventually these media drives will become full and if you have one of those drives as your designated thumbnail drive and as you add more drives There will eventually be no more room for building those thumbnails if the location is on one of those drives. Correct?

TY for any tips.

fitbrit

• MC Beta Team

I use unRAID. I built a server that I added storage to incrementally as I could afford it. By creating drive shares, which you can map to drive letters, you can organise your media any way you want with respect to the physical media.

For example, I have a Movies share, which is mapped to drive M:\