INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio skips while ripping a DVD  (Read 1207 times)

MNTheaterGuy

• Recent member
Audio skips while ripping a DVD
« on: May 18, 2009, 11:30:12 am »

So granted, I AM a newbie at this however, I am hoping womeone can send me in the right direction.
When I am ripping a DVD and have audio playing in JRiver, the Audio skips.
Its almost as though it is starved for CPU.
I have it set to buffer 8 seconds now(was set at 6 before)
PC is new 2.8 GHZ processor with 4 Gig ram
running on win XP Pro x64.
Is this just something I should deal with? obvisouly I wont be playing audio and ripping very often however since I am just setting up I do it all the time.
Any thoughts would be appreciated for a new guy.

Frobozz

• Citizen of the Universe
  • There is a small mailbox here.
Re: Audio skips while ripping a DVD
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 12:13:05 pm »

It could be due to latency in the CD/DVD drivers.  CD/DVD drivers have a reputation for being a little greedy with respect to latency.  Run the DPC Latency Checker while ripping a DVD and see if there are big spikes in latency during the DVD ripping process.  If those spikes go away when the ripping is finished then you can suspect that the latency there is the cause.

There is not a lot you can do about that other than looking to see if your motherboard has updated drivers.  If you're using ASIO you could look to see if your ASIO driver has a setting for additional buffering (buffering outside of what MC does).

I've been wondering if USB connected CD/DVD drives are better behaved about latency?  I don't have a USB drive to test.

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • The Cosmic Bird
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2009, 03:11:03 pm »

When I am ripping a DVD and have audio playing in JRiver, the Audio skips.