INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Theater View and Touchscreen  (Read 2305 times)

SeaDrive

• World Citizen
Theater View and Touchscreen
« on: June 18, 2009, 01:52:24 pm »

We recently made changes to make rollers easier to use with a touchscreen.  If you still have problems with rollers and a touchscreen with the latest build, please start a thread and we can discuss it.

Thanks.

I'm a developer of touchscreen based Point of Sale systems and have been involved in many touchscreen design projects. After monitoring controlled study groups of common end users for years I realize just how simple and intuitive the interface needs to be.

I have been taking advantage of the new rollers in touchscreen and they are definately an improvement. I love them for scrolling through list, etc. However, what I find is that the common end-user will not understand how to use the rollers. In fact, when I put it in front of some test users only one of them even thought to press and drag the rollers. As a power user I would usually choose the rollers but it's good to have a simple point and shoot interface as well. Most of the roller-based features are also available under the 'view' button in the button based view scheme. This would be a great place for

ThoBar

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Was confishy
Re: Theater View and Touchscreen
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2009, 11:23:57 pm »

My wife loves the HP software that came with her tablet, as it allows drag and drop into the play queue.

Its also that type of thing that I think MC can improve on, that being the really tactile based experience.