INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Server Question  (Read 2321 times)

NY40Male

Media Server Question
« on: July 07, 2002, 07:57:03 am »

Any Way To Connect The Two Computers Without Doing The
66.24.100.2:80 Connection..If The Internet Goes Down
Then This Method Sucks....Im Running 2 Computers With A Hub
Any Help Greatly Appreciated
Hope Everyone Had A Safe & Happy 4th

claudio

• Galactic Citizen
RE:Media Server Question
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2002, 08:05:42 am »

If you computers are on a lan, you should be using the internal ip (192.168.x.x or similar) not the external. I'm not sure if the media server needs an internet connection anyway, but probably not (and I'm too lazy to unplug mine to try

Claudio

NY40Male

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2002, 08:20:23 am »

I'm Not An Networking Expert...So The Next Question Is...
How Do I Find Out What My Internal IP Is?

NY40Male

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2002, 08:22:39 am »

Do You Still Use Port If Connected Internally?

JimH

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Miller drives a tall-masted tractor on the ocean
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2002, 09:21:31 am »

Your IP address will be at the top of the Media Server window.
Jim Hillegass
JRiver Media Center / Media Jukebox

NY40Male

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2002, 10:03:11 am »

But Isnt That Thru The Internet?
I'm Trying To Find Out Internal

NY40Male

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2002, 10:08:37 am »

Let's Go Back To The Original Question
How Does One Connect Without Going Thru The Internet?
And/Or If You Go To Media Server Connect It Asks
For Ip Address Or Server Name...What Is Server Name?

JimH

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2002, 10:15:00 am »

You IP address can be just a local address.  Try it.  Just start up Media Server, tell it to share, and then look at the IP address.  Go to the other machine, do tools/Media Server/connect and type in that IP address.