INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Musiland Monitor O2 US -NuForce uDAC - Musicstreamer II  (Read 16731 times)

sawdin

• Recent member
Musiland Monitor O2 US -NuForce uDAC - Musicstreamer II
« on: March 02, 2010, 11:55:48 am »

Which USB DAC is best for my system?  Why do you think so?  Each DAC is listed below along with a few specs and questions.  I have not included the Devilsound DAC ($399) as I do not want to spend that much.  I'll be using Media Center 14, listening to lots of streaming audio at 256kbps or 192kbps, plus CD's played from my computer's drives and ripped CD's when I get around to ripping them.  Have Senn HD 650's + Perreaux Silhouette SXVH1 amp, running Win 7 x64 on new system. 

TIA for any suggestions and comments, as I'm pretty new to to pc audio world.

Musiland Monitor O2 US ($190)
"Continuing the superior USB performance of the Musiland Monitor 01 US, the Musiland Monitor 02 provides the same 192K USB capability but with the addition of SPDIF conversion, separate power supply and high/low impedance headphone output."
Drivers???  Seems like I've read of numerous issues w/ drivers and compatibility issues concerning Musiland.
Pacific Valve & Electric Company Pacific Valve Musiland Monitor 02 US

NuForce uDAC ($99)
USB native bit rate: 32-48kHz, 16-bit.  Has S/PDIF out.  Has headphone amp, but I've already got one that should be better.
Nuforce.com | Icon uDAC

Musicstreamer II ($149)
24/96 capability, great reviews, seems user-friendly.  No S/PDIF output.  Made in USA (all things being equal, I'd rather buy products being made here.)
CryoParts HRT Music Streamer+

--------------
* Dell XPS 8100 (i7 860 (2.8GHz), 8 GB ram, running Windows 7 x64), Realtek HD Audio SC w/ Tru Studio PC software (Creative/THX), Swann D1080 Mk II speakers
* Senn HD 650, Perreaux Sihoutte SXH1 amp