INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ASUS Xonar Essence ST Deluxe review @ Guru3d  (Read 5653 times)

mojave

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
ASUS Xonar Essence ST Deluxe review @ Guru3d
« on: July 26, 2010, 03:16:40 pm »

The ASUS Xonar Essence ST with the H6 daughtercard has recently been reviewed at Guru3d. I have this setup and really like it. I've been using it since December, 2009. If you are looking for a high quality multichannel solution (7.1), I highly recommend it. The current ASUS Beta drivers provide bit matching, bypasses Windows volume control, and bypass all of the card's DSP when using ASIO output. You need to use MC's internal volume control, room correction DSP, and bass management for best results when using ASIO output. You also need to do the channel swap in MC's ASIO setup.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: ASUS Xonar Essence ST Deluxe review @ Guru3d
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 08:07:37 pm »

Thanks for the heads up.

I think high quality analog output is important for some of the Room Correction, Bass Management, etc. work we've been doing.

A few months back, I tried a lot of soundcards.  At that time, the Asus Xonar gave me a lot of troubles and I gave up on it:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=55607.0

It's good to hear they've gotten things straightened away.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

nwboater

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2010, 10:58:16 pm »