INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Failed to Initialize TV Tuner Device" Error During HD PVR Setup  (Read 22811 times)

nwboater

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

Just installed a new Hauppauge HD PVR. When I go to Setup Television in MC the HD PVR shows as a Tuner but when I click on Configure I get the error message "Failed to Initialize TV Tuner Device".

It is the only tuner in the system. It shows okay in XP's Device Manager. An old version of TMT Extreme came with the HD PVR and I installed it. It does show Television from the HD PVR so it's working at least for TMT. Thinking there may be a conflict between TMT and JRiver I uninstalled TMT, rebooted and still no luck. I'm running MC 15.0.122

I have heard a lot of people have troubles with this box, but I had hoped to get further than this. Also this is my first time trying TV with MC.

If there are any HD PVR users out there I'd sure love to hear from you and any suggestions you may have once I get beyond this original hurdle. I also have a USB-UIRT that I would like to use for channel changing - I heard the Hauppauge Blaster is quite problematic. I haven't been able to get any information on the JRiver site about using it to change channels. Anybody?

Thanks for any help you may be able to offer.

Rod

DavidE

• Recent member
Re: "Failed to Initialize TV Tuner Device" Error During HD PVR Setup
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 04:29:07 pm »

You may need to re-register the ArcSoft filters MC uses.

You can search the MC forum for "Failed to Initialize TV Tuner Device" (without the quotes) for this issue.

There is a "Help setting up Hauppauge HD PVR" post from May 22, 2009 about this issue - check it out - here is what i get when i copy that link:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=52038.msg355053#msg355053

hope this helps!

nwboater

• MC Beta Team