INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need advice about NAS and MC15  (Read 1718 times)

Valvefan

• Recent member
Need advice about NAS and MC15
« on: October 13, 2010, 04:55:50 pm »

Hi All

I've been using Media Center for 2 years.  Just replaced my PC with a fanless, silent Win 7 64 bit machine with internal 60GB SSD.  Obviously I'll need external storage for music files.  I just got a NAS device and router.  If I put my music files on the NAS will MC15 be able to "see" and play my files?  The NAS is a D-link DNS 323 and it is supposedly UPnP capable.  I plan to use an ethernet connection rather than wireless.  Does this plan sound reasonable?

Thanks

Valvefan

bob

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Need advice about NAS and MC15
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 02:11:35 pm »

If it's a NAS you could just connect to it as a windows share and import the files into your MC library. If it does DLNA (UPnP) properly (is searchable), you could connect it as a library using DLNA instead.

rpalmer68

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 05:30:34 am »

Hi All

I've been using Media Center for 2 years.  Just replaced my PC with a fanless, silent Win 7 64 bit machine with internal 60GB SSD.  Obviously I'll need external storage for music files.  I just got a NAS device and router.  If I put my music files on the NAS will MC15 be able to "see" and play my files?  The NAS is a D-link DNS 323 and it is supposedly UPnP capable.  I plan to use an ethernet connection rather than wireless.  Does this plan sound reasonable?

Thanks

Valvefan

To answer your queston ... yes.