INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tivo and J River  (Read 1766 times)

szhleppy

Tivo and J River
« on: October 15, 2010, 01:44:31 pm »

Tivo newbie here looking to use the J River software to reduce the number of boxes in my home theater and improve the overall user interface.  I've searched through this forum for a few hours but haven't quite found the answers to my questions....maybe I'm trying to do the impossible here.

Equipment:
Tivo Premiere
Cox Cable is the service provider.  The Tivo is hardwired to a wireless-N router.
WD Sharespace NAS
The NAS holds Apple Lossless audio files and MP4 video files.  It is connected to a wireless-N range extender in the home office.

Background:
I currently use the old version AppleTV 160GB with ATV Flash software to stream the Apple Lossless and MP4 files in addition to the Tivo Premiere which I use for regular TV, amazon movie rental, web videos, and a Rhapsody trial.  The Rhapsody trial through Tivo sounds fairly impressive, which is why I am considering getting rid of the Apple TV if streaming through Tivo will work.  Ideally I would like to eliminate the AppleTV box and access everything through J River on Tivo for an easier interface.

Questions:
With the J River plug-in for Tivo, will I be able to stream the Apple Lossless audio and MP4 video files through the Tivo?
...if yes, a couple of questions on the details:
Will this solution require the Tivo Desktop software to be running on a computer on the network?
Will this solution work better if the NAS is hardwired to the same router as the Tivo?
...if no, any suggestions that I'm not thinking of? 

Thanks for your help everyone.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tivo and J River
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 02:08:35 pm »

For Apple Lossless support, you may need filters installed: