INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can MC replace xbmc?  (Read 6374 times)

Wibs

Can MC replace xbmc?
« on: February 16, 2011, 09:35:26 am »

Hi,

newbie here, so please go easy on me.

I have Twonky Media Server installed on a linux HD in a Foxsat HDR (satellite receiver with hard-drive), connected to my home network (and beyond). Twonky streams beautifully, and to receive and play those streams I have been using xbmc on my home network PCs / laptops / smartphones. I simply give xbmc the IP address and port number for my Foxsat/Twonky (usually 192.168.0.6:9000 and it sees all the files stored there and I can select any file stored and it will then stream and play inside xbmc.

The only problem I have with this is that while conducting experiments to see if I could stream across the web, instead of just on my local network (using a Dyndns domain name tied to my router's external IP address), I found that it CAN stream across the web, but I had to get friends to confirm this for me as when I tried to install xbmc on a dedicated server in the Netherlands that I lease, running Windows Server 2008, in order to test this myself, (and being a dedicated server it has no graphics card, just the Intel 945 Graphics chip), xbmc simply will not install.

So, I am looking for an alternative DNLA client (player) to xbmc, and I do not mind at all paying for a commercial product.

My questions are these:

1. I am confused by the term 'renderer', is this the same as a DNLA client (player)?

2. Can MC function as a player?

3. Is it as simple as xbmc, ie can I just give MC an IP/port or URL/port and it will then connect to the source and play a stream, or list any media files it finds there and allow me to select a file and play (not download, but instigate a stream)?