INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MacBook Pro running Win 7. ASIO or WASAPI supported?  (Read 5048 times)

Talos

• Recent member
MacBook Pro running Win 7. ASIO or WASAPI supported?
« on: March 31, 2011, 10:53:31 am »

I have a 2009 unibody Macbook Pro running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit edition with Bootcamp 3.0 support.  I am totally new to J River - I just downloaded the MC16 beta to evaluate.  I am trying to get either ASIO or WASAPI working in order to provide "bit-perfect" audio to my new Classé CP-800.  Before I bash my brains out, does anybody know if this hardware/OS combo supports ASIO or WASAPI?  This stuff really pushes the limits of my computer audio knowledge.... :-[

bob

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: MacBook Pro running Win 7. ASIO or WASAPI supported?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 11:32:38 am »

I have a 2009 unibody Macbook Pro running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit edition with Bootcamp 3.0 support.  I am totally new to J River - I just downloaded the MC16 beta to evaluate.  I am trying to get either ASIO or WASAPI working in order to provide "bit-perfect" audio to my new Classé CP-800.  Before I bash my brains out, does anybody know if this hardware/OS combo supports ASIO or WASAPI?  This stuff really pushes the limits of my computer audio knowledge.... :-[

I'm not an expert on the WASAPI or ASIO stuff but I think I've got a handle on what you need.

From what I understand, bootcamp includes basic drivers for the audio chipset on your MBP. You need ASIO or WASAPI drivers for the native MBP hardware in windows. Since the MBP contains off the shelf hardware for many of it's components, you MAY be able to find generic windows WASAPI or ASIO drivers for your audio chipset if they exist.