INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to set up DLNA and/or Library Server  (Read 2900 times)

wisedan

• Recent member
How to set up DLNA and/or Library Server
« on: April 05, 2011, 06:07:00 pm »

I wish I could find a definitive how to on setting up several MC computers to talk to each other. The Wiki is  a little hard to follow for me and doesn't seem current for MC16. I'm a real novice when it comes to front ends and back ends, etc. Can any one point me in the right direction?

Specifically, I'd like to run something like this:
-One computer as library server which contains all the files and the main library.
-Several other computers which can read this library and play the files
-Ability of server computer to control the others

I'd also like to have a subset of files stored locally on the laptops, so I can disconnect and still play. Is there an easy way to do this?

From what I've sort of figured out, I would turn library server service on with the server computer and load that library onto the others. But here I get stuck. Do I also need DLNA to control the other computers?  Do I need to turn on any services on the other computers (DLNA server/renderer/controller)? If so, can I do so without having conflicting library servers on the same port (52199 default)? Do I have to have MC (GUI) running on the server computer? Is the option in startup to start library server with Windows the way to get it going? Do I need to be logged in, or does it run as a system server.

Even more basic, I'd love a step by step--go to options and click... kind of guide.

Anyone up to the challenge of getting me through this?

Thanks!!!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: How to set up DLNA and/or Library Server
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 06:39:01 pm »