INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio file name options and CUE  (Read 5208 times)

NickT

• Recent member
Audio file name options and CUE
« on: May 24, 2011, 08:42:49 am »

Hello All

Forgive me if the following is a potential same old question but I am new to ripping and playing uncompressed audio.
I am ripping my entire CD collection to flac using EAC for reproduction via a music computer I have just built, linked to my DAC via AES/EBU and/or USB.

Stupidly I did not do enough homework before setting up EAC and now have an irritating situation.
I have just imported the first 60 or so rips into MC and was a little surprised that none of my files are recognised as albums. Now I know why!
1) I did not set up the file name criteria and 2) I didn't create a CUE list for each rip!!!

I have now corrected the file settings and think I understand the importance of both.

My question:

If I now create a retrospective CUE file for each of the CD's ripped, clear the current file import from MC; will MC use the CUE file to structure the individual files as albums when I do a new import?

Apologies if I am barking up the wrong tree but the thought of ripping all the CD's again is somewhat unappealing considering I have 1200 or so to go.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in anticipation

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Audio file name options and CUE
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 08:55:06 am »

You might try ripping a few with MC just to see what happens.  MC's ripping is unsurpassed.

Vincent Kars

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 09:51:28 am »

I’m not familiar with EAC but in general ripping software might create a CUE but most of them simply store the meta data in tags. No need to use a file name or a CUE.