INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DVD Collection Ripping/Encoding Tools & Settings  (Read 2484 times)

Nicholas T

• Junior Woodchuck
DVD Collection Ripping/Encoding Tools & Settings
« on: June 08, 2011, 09:36:01 am »

Hi,

I have just purchased a DLNA enabled PVR so I'm keen to get my DVD collection on my server but I'm having trouble finding the right ripper/encoder app to use for the task and what formats/settings I should start with. 

I tried MakeMKV which was very quick to encode but the produced file was not supported by my PVR although it could play on my PC.  I have other MKV files which play fine so I know the PVR is capable if in the correct format.  I also tried XviD4PSP 5.0 which was so slow (4fps / 5 hours for 3GB) and I gave up.  6.0 beta looks faster (8fps / 2.5 hours) but that still doesn't sound too flash to me.

This is my first time encoding a DVD to H.264 so how fast would an average DVD usually take and what tools/settings would you recommend?

Cheers,
Nicholas

LGV40, Samsung Tab S7+ & Sony WH1000XM4 = some peace in the chaos.

jmone

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • I won! I won!
Re: DVD Collection Ripping/Encoding Tools & Settings
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2011, 06:32:58 am »

I'm not sure that you need to transcode your DVD's to any other format as your PVR should be able to play the MPEG2/DD (or MPEG Audio) stream just fine.  Try just ripping the DVD into MC and then using your DLNA PVR to connect to MC and play it back.  You may want to setup a DLNA profile for your PVR in Tools--> Options --> Media Networks --> Add or Configure DLNA Servers.

For what it is worth (and I have very few DVD's) I used DVD Decrypter to rip them to a single VOB file (that I then manually renamed to MPG but that was for other reasons way back when).
JRiver CEO Elect

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • The Cosmic Bird