INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie with ASIO drivers having problems recording & with microphone  (Read 2095 times)

Kernowkevin

Hi

I'm a newbie to the J River Media Centre - its an excellent piece of software but I am having an issue with being unable to record from the J River Media Centre nor am I now able to use my microphone on Skype

Here's the spec of the PC which is probably not relevant but just in case:

Dell Studio XPS running Windows 7 Professional with Windows Core i7 processor & 6Gb of Ram

The sound card is an Creative X-Fi Titanium which has been by-passed by plugging a Cambridge Audio DACMagic DAC into the USB port. This is linked to Cambridge Audio amp, Wharfedale Diamonds & a BK Electronics sub-woofer

I have successfully installed the ASIO4All drivers into the JRiver Media Center

I am delighted with the quality of the sound when I listen to streamed music - for the record the Cambridge Audio DAC is a superb piece of kit with rave reviews everywhere & blows away the Creative X Fi sound card (not cheap !) in terms of sound quality.

The ASIO4All drivers also make a significant difference & must be one of the best free upgrades for improving the quality of sound from your PC - and it’s a doddle to install within the J River Media Center.

The ASIO Drivers do seem to have caused two significant problems & I really do not want to uninstall them. (both were working before I installed the ASIO drivers)

Firstly, my microphone no longer works in Skype and I cannot record sound using the recording facility within the J River Media Centre (Tools>Advanced tools>Record Sound). I'm trying to record using the MP3 encoder and I have a music file after recording  but it is `silent'

The title in the Recorder window says it is using the Creative X-Fi Digital In