INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: USB Bass Management  (Read 1534 times)

mvs1000

USB Bass Management
« on: July 22, 2011, 10:51:13 am »

Newbie here so apologies if this topic has already been explained...just point me in the right direction.  :)

I have an older model Peachtree audio Decco connected to a Windows7 computer and MC16 installed.  My problem is I am unable to use the room correction features in the DSP studio.  Specifically, the bass management is greyed out.

My subwoofer is connected to the Peachtree via the line level pre-out RCA jacks.  Using this configuration I get very, very low output from the sub (even after turning the gain and crossover to their max settings).

I have tried connecting the computer to the Peachtree with both the USB connection and via the sound cards mini-jacks.

I notice that if I connect the sub to the Peachtree via the speaker binding posts I get much more volume.  However, the Peachtree only has one set of speaker outputs so to drive both the mains and the sub I have to double up on the connections which, if I understand correction, will halve the impedance and present a difficult load to the Peachtree's amp.  Even under this connection configuration the bass management still does not work.

There is clearly some fundamental concept I am missing here.  :)  Thanks in advance for any help.

Matt

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: USB Bass Management
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 11:05:25 am »

Specifically, the bass management is greyed out.

You can only use Bass Management if you're outputting a discrete subwoofer channel.  Normally this means 2.1, 5.1 or 7.1 output, which requires 6 or 8 outputs on your audio device.