INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help me understand the best-use relationship between Media Center/iTunes/iPhone  (Read 27392 times)

Misterboy

• Recent member

Hi all,

I've spent the last several hours going through the forums, so bear with me.  I'm trying to decide if I should purchase Media Center or not.  I LOVE it, but I'm having trouble understanding the "best use" relationship between Media Center and my iPhone.  I've found a LOOOOT of threads about this, but all of them are old and the information is dispersed through innumerable replies, and often the topics aren't what I'm looking for.  I'm hoping someone can give me a new starting point.

Let me preface this by saying that I have extensive experience with Media Center and am *very* comfortable with it's functions.

1.  As far as I can tell, iPhones are *not* supported in any way from within Media Center (and this is due to Apple, not J River).  Is this true?  Some threads claim that my iPhone should show up in the Drives and Devices, but it isn't there at all... even after rescanning the drives/devices many times, and ensuring my iPhone is unlocked, etc etc.

1a.  I would have thought I'd at least have the supported ability to sync photos to my iPhone through Media Center as I can do that direction through Windows Explorer.

2.  Assuming 1 is true, and iPhones are not supported at all, can someone please break down the best way to use my iPhone with Media Center?

Possible solutions involve:

a. pointing iTunes to my music library and ensuring iTunes doesn't muck with the files and formats
b. Creating a "device" in Media Center and exporting all (or a subset) of my library, and then using that locations as my iTunes "library".
c. Creating a playlist in some way in which iTunes might play nice with Media Center?
d. Some other exotic solution that I haven't through of.